Senate committee approves EPA nominee

On Tuesday, February 9, the Senate Committee on Environment & Public Works voted to approve Michael Regan to be Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency. The vote was 14-6. The nomination will now head to the full Senate for a vote, which has yet to be scheduled.

While Regan did draw bipartisan support, six Republican senators opposed the nomination: Ranking Member Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Senator Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Senator Cynthis Lummis (R-WY), Senator Richard Shelby (R-AL), Senator John Boozman (R-AR), and Senator Joni Ernst (R-IA). All Democratic Senators voted in favor of the nomination, as did four Republicans.

Those who opposed Regan's nomination said they had issues with the Biden Administration's environmental plans, including the use of Executive Orders. It is expected that Regan will be approved by the full Senate.