Congressional Retirements Highlight 2020 Election Outlook
With the November 2020 election now only months away, the control of Congress may come down to a number of retiring members. Four members of the U.S. Senate and 35 members of the U.S. House have announced they will not seek reelection to their seats. The remaining 400 House seats and an additional 30 Senate seats will be up for grabs. Seven House members and one Senator have left office early during the 116th Congress.
While control of Congress is important, the 2020 election will also impact the makeup of Congressional committees. As more senior Congressional members retire, membership of committees and the staff for each committee changes.
Below is a current list of retiring members as well as the Congressional committees they serve on that impact APWA issues.
Lamar Alexander (R-TN): Appropriations; Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions
Mike Enzi (R-WY): Finance; Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions; Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs
Pat Roberts (R-KS): Finance; Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions
Tom Udall (D-NM): Appropriations; Commerce, Science, and Transportation
Rob Bishop (R-UT)
Susan Brooks (R-IN): Energy and Commerce
Bradley Byrne (R-AL): Education and Labor
Michael Conaway (R-TX)
Paul Cook (R-CA)
Susan Davis (D-CA): Education and Labor
Bill Flores (R-TX): Energy and Commerce
Greg Gianforte (R-MT): Energy and Commerce
Tom Graves (R-GA): Appropriations
Denny Heck (D-WA): Financial Services; House Public Works and Infrastructure Caucus
George Holding (R-NC): Ways and Means
Will Hurd (R-TX): Appropriations
Joseph Kennedy (D-MA): Energy and Commerce
Peter King (R-NY): Financial Services; Homeland Security
Dave Loebsack (D-IA): Energy and Commerce
Nita Lowey (D-NY): Appropriations (Chair)
Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM): Energy and Commerce
Kenny Marchant (R-TX): Ways and Means
Roger Marshall (R-KS)
Mark Meadows (R-NC): Transportation and Infrastructure; House Public Works and Infrastructure Caucus
Paul Mitchell (R-MI): Transportation and Infrastructure
Pete Olson (R-TX): Energy and Commerce
Martha Roby (R-AL): Appropriations
Phil Roe (R-TN): Education and Labor; House Public Works and Infrastructure Caucus
Francis Rooney (R-FL): Education and Labor
Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI)
Jose Serrano (D-NY): Appropriations
John Shimkus (R-IL): Energy and Commerce
Mac Thornberry (R-TX)
Pete Visclosky (D-IN): Appropriations
Greg Walden (R-OR): Energy and Commerce (Ranking Member)
Mark Walker (R-NC): Education and Labor; Homeland Security
Rob Woodall (R-GA): Transportation and Infrastructure
Ted Yoho (R-FL)