Sustainable Transportation Subcommittee

This Transportation Committee Subcommittee's mission is to gather information on the best practices in sustainable transportation and encourage their use by educating APWA membership. The subcommittee primarily serves the Transportation Committee’s goal to "assist APWA members to acquire and maintain the skills and knowledge necessary to successfully develop and implement sustainable public works infrastructure and deliver transportation services with consideration of social, economic and environmental costs." The APWA Center for Sustainability (C4S) core principles also provide guidance to the subcommittee's efforts.

Some of the information that has been developed and presented by the subcommittee can be found under Resources.

Subcommittee Roster

Chair Harris & Associates
Mr. Sam Yaghmaie, LEED AP, PE Seattle, WA
Senior Director Full contact info

Member City of Bellingham
Mr. Freeman Anthony, PE Bellingham, WA
Project Engineer Full contact info

Member HW Lochner, Inc
Mr. Gary F. Demich Olympia, WA
National Director of Sustainability Full contact info

Member Transportation Agcy for Monterey Co
Ms. Debra L. Hale Salinas, CA
Executive Director Full contact info

Alexander Harrison
Field Engineer Full contact info

Member LJB Inc
Mr. Daniel J. Hoying Miamisburg, OH
Principal Full contact info

Member Federal Highway Administration-LTAP
Mr. Benjamin J. Jordan, PE Arlington, VA
WI LTAP Program Director Full contact info

Member Washtenaw County, MI
Mr. Evan N. Pratt, PE Ann Arbor, MI
Water Resources Commissioner Full contact info

Member Region of Durham
Mr. Manivannan Rajendran Whitby, ON
Project Manager, Works Department Full contact info

Member SCJ Alliance
Ms. Lisa M. Reid, ENV SP, PE, PMP Seattle, WA
Engineering Manager Full contact info

Member Federal Highway Administration
Ms. Francine Shaw Whitson Washington, DC
Transportation Manager Full contact info

Member SvR Design Company
Ms. Peg R. Staeheli, ASLA, LEED AP Seattle, WA