Road Safety Subcommittee

This Transportation Committee Subcommittee's mission is to assist APWA member agencies to reduce the frequency and severity of serious crashes in their own jurisdictions, with policies and techniques that are cost-effective and appropriate for local governments. The Subcommittee develops strategies and recommends policy and position statements to the Transportation Committee to accomplish this mission.

Subcommittee Roster

Chair Hubbell, Roth & Clark Inc
Mr. Lawrence B. Hummel, PE, PWLF Carson City, MI
Senior Project Engineer

Member North America Traffic
Mr. Charles Agro Welland, ON
Sales Manager

Member Federal Highway Administration
Ms. Rosemarie Anderson Washington, DC
Transportation Specialist-Office of Safety

Member Kansas DOT
Mrs. Carla P. Anderson, PE Topeka, KS

Member City of Bellingham
Mr. Freeman Anthony, PE Bellingham, WA
Project Engineer

Member Monte Vista Associates, LLC
Mr. David L. Bergner, CPWP-M Mesa, AZ

Member Thurston County Public Works
Mr. Scott Davis, PE Olympia, WA
Traffic Engineering & Operations Mgr

Member Self
Mr. Anthony R. Giancola, MASc Washington, DC
Transportation Consultant

Member American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
Ms. Kelly K. Hardy Washington, DC
Program Manager for Safety

Member Washtenaw County Road Commission
Mr. Kenneth Harley Harris Ann Arbor, MI
Asst Superintendent To Maintenance

Mr. Tim Kariel Bellevue, WA
Civil Engineer

Member TRB
Mr. Bernardo Kleiner Washington, DC
Senior Program Officer, Transportation Safety Specialist

Member CH2M Hill
Ms. Kim Kolody Silverman, PE Chicago, IL
North American Highway and Traffic Safety Director

Member Affinis Corp
Ms. Kristen E. Leathers, PE Overland Park, KS
Project Manager

Member NC State University/ITRE
Mr. James B. Martin, PE Raleigh, NC

Member CH2M HILL
Ms. Susan Martinovich, PE Reno, NV

Member VHB
Mr. Daniel Thomas Nabors Silver Spring, MD
Transportation Engineer

Member Professional Snowfighters Association
Dr. Wilfrid A. Nixon, PE, PhD, PWLF Iowa City, IA

Member Arizona DOT
Mr. Scott E. Nodes, PE, PTOE Phoenix, AZ
Engineering Design Manager

Member Johnson County Secondary Roads
Mr. Greg Parker Iowa City, IA

Member Christopher B. Burke Engineering LTD.
Mr. Douglas F. Paulus, PE, CPII Elgin, IL

Member City of Topeka
Dr. Jason M. Peek, PE, PhD Topeka, KS
Public Works Director

Member WSP USA
Nick Voss Kansas City, MO
Sr Highway Engineer

Member Federal Highway Administration-LTAP
Ms. Marie B. Walsh Baton Rouge, LA
Director, LA LTAP Center