Committee for Diversity and Inclusion

The APWA Committee for Diversity and Inclusion is appointed by the president and is comprised of members of the association.  The Committee advances diversity issues throughout the association, placing value on all individuals and the different perspectives of those individuals, and promoting the process for all to feel included as part of the whole.  For the Committee's deliberations, the word "diversity" includes race, gender, creed, age, lifestyle, national origin, disability, personality, educational background and income level.

Members of the Committee participate in monthly conference calls and an annual face-to-face meeting, typically at PWX (formerly known as the International Public Works Congress & Exposition).

Want to learn more about diversity in the workplace?  There are over 100 articles on diversity from the APWA Reporter.

Interested in learning more about diversity and inclusiveness at the APWA chapter level?  Sign in to MyAPWA, then under "Promoting APWA" click on the link for the Diversity Toolkit.

If you have additional questions related to diversity, inclusiveness, or the APWA Committee on Diversity and Inclusion, contact the Committee's Staff Liaison shown on the roster shown below.

Summaries of Committee on Diversity and Inclusion meetings are available online.
APWA's Diversity Statement:
The American Public Works Association recognizes, appreciates and fosters the synergy which is created when the work environment values the differences in individuals and practices inclusiveness and open communication.

Current Committee on Diversity and Inclusion Roster

Chair City of Chattanooga
Mrs. Kimberly Michelle Strong Chattanooga, TN
Public Information Specialist Full contact info

Member City of St. Paul Department of Public Works
Ms. Beverly A. Farraher, PE, PTOE Saint Paul, MN
Operations Manager Full contact info

Member Hart Engineering LLC
Ms. Paula Hart Saint Louis, MO
Principal Full contact info

Member City of Durham
Mr. Justin P. Miller Durham, NC
Asst Engineering Services Supervisor Full contact info

Member City of Roanoke
Mr. Jeffrey H. Powell Roanoke, VA
Dir of General Svcs Full contact info

Member APWA
Monica Smith Kansas City, MO
HR Full contact info

Member Pierce County Planning and PW
Ms. Kandace K. Thomas, CPWP-S Tacoma, WA
Administrative Program Manager 1 Full contact info

Member City of Dubuque IA
Ms. Renee Tyler Dubuque, IA
Director of Transportation Svs Full contact info