page header

International Affairs Committee

There are twelve members on the International Affairs Committee (IAC), seven are appointed by the President-Elect, with members eligible to serve up to three, two-year terms. Four of the committee members appointed by the President-Elect also serve as chairs to IAC subcommittees. Five of the committee members are ex-officio members from APWA's formal international partnerships. The IAC works to enhance the quality and efficiency with which public works infrastructure and services are provided around the world by facilitating the development and exchange of ideas, information and technology among persons professionally involved in the delivery of such facilities and services.

Five members of the IAC also serve on the Jennings Randolph International Fellowship Review Task Force and review the applications for the Jennings Randolph International Fellowship Program and in turn make a recommendation to the Committee regarding the Jennings Randolph International Fellows. Final confirmation of the Jennings Randolph International Fellows is determined by the Eisenhower Word Affairs Institute. The IAC holds monthly conference call meetings and an annual face-to-face meeting at PWX. Each IAC member is also asked to participate in a subcommittee; subcommittees meet quarterly via conference call.  Additional contribution of time is based upon commitment of committee members to various assignments.

The IAC was founded in 1989 and sees its mission to support efforts of public works organizations around the world to serve their local communities, through humanitarian service, seek solutions to global problems, and educate leaders who will make the world a better place by sharing in education and knowledge of engineering principles, techniques, and public works services.

International Public Works Exchanges
From time to time, APWA national is contacted by public works professionals from their formal partner countries (Australia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Slovak Republic, Sweden) indicating they would like to arrange a public works study tour in the USA and/or Canada. So, APWA has developed these two documents to assist APWA local chapters host and organize public works study tours in their communities.

International Public Works Exchanges pamphlet
International Public Works Exchanges information

Current Committee Roster

(Summaries of Committee's meetings)
Chair City of Ames
Ms. Tracy L. Warner, PE Ames, IA
Municipal Engineer

Member City of Helsinki
Mr. Ville Alatyppo, MSc, D SC, Cand Helsinki, 
FAME, Chair; Dir of Maint Unit

Member Swedish Public Works Association (SPWA)
Mr. Sofi Almqvist Kalmar, SC
Vice Chairman

Member Civil & Structural Engineering
Mr. Clive W. Cawthorne, PWLF Lithgow, NSW

Member Saskatchewan Chapter
Mr. Doug J. Drever, FEC, P Eng Saskatoon, SK

Member City of San Diego
Mr. Julio C. Fuentes San Diego, CA
Senior Traffic Engineer

Member Pima County
Ms. Sandi J. Garrick Tucson, AZ
Project Mgr Utility Liaison

Member IPWEA / Institute of Public Works Engineering - Australasia
David Jenkins, MBA AICD CIM North Sydney, NSW
Chief Executive Officer

Member City of Seattle
Ms. Holly Scarlett Seattle, WA

Member ICLEI Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean
Mr. Edgar Villasenor Franco Col Central, Mexico, DF

Member IPWEA / Institute of Public Works Engineering - New Zealand
Mr. Ross Vincent Thames, NSW

Staff Liaison American Public Works Association
Mr. David Dancy Kansas City, MO
Director of Marketing

Staff Liaison American Public Works Association
Ms. Lillie Salinas Kansas City, MO
Marketing & Outreach Manager