Who Leads the Center

Make a Difference - Nominate yourself or someone else to serve on the Center for Sustainability (C4S) Leadership Group!  Details about time involvement and expectations of  committee members are available on the Standing and Program Committees page. To make a nomination: sign in to MyAPWA, then use the orange 'National Nominations' button. Deadline: March 23rd!
The Center for Sustainability is led by a twelve APWA members from across the US and Canada who have demonstrated a commitment to sustainability and are exercising sustainable leadership in their communities. Center leaders meet monthly by teleconference and are also asked to serve as liaison to another APWA technical or standing committee. Two face-to-face meetings are held annually, a 1½ day meeting in winter/spring, and an afternoon meeting held at PWX. Center leaders are involved in Center projects with most work being accomplished by conference calls and online document review.

Current C4S Leadership Group

(brief biographies)
(Group's meeting summaries)
Director-At-Large Environmental Mgmt WE3 Consultants LLC
Mr. William E. Spearman, III, PE Saluda, SC
Full contact info

Chair City of Eugene
Mr. Matthew J. Rodrigues, PWM Eugene, OR
Traffic Engineer Full contact info

Member Shockey Consulting Services, LLC
Mr. JC Alonzo, ENV SP Lenexa, KS
Consultant Full contact info

Member City of Durham
Ms. Maie Armstrong, EI Durham, NC
Engineer II Full contact info

Member Rutan Tucker
Ms. Morgan L. Gallagher Costa Mesa, CA
ATTORNEY Full contact info

Member City of Huntington Beach
Mr. Thomas Herbel, PE Huntington Beach, CA
CITY ENGINEER Full contact info

Member Recreation Facilities Assn of British Columbia
Mr. Dwayne E. Kalynchuk, PWLF, CSM Victoria, BC
Executive Director Full contact info

Member Impact Infrastructure
Mr. Stephane Larocque Ottawa, ON
Chief Operating Officer Full contact info

Member Kim Lundgren Associates, Inc
Ms. Kim Lundgren Woburn, MA
CEO Full contact info

Member Fairfax County VA
Mr. James Patteson Fairfax, VA

Member City of Los Angeles
Mr. Michael Simpson, PE Los Angeles, CA
BOS Sr. Sanitary Engineer I Full contact info

Mr. John A. Trujillo Phoenix, AZ
Retired Full contact info

Member Sarpy County
Dr. Dennis L. Wilson, PE, PhD Papillion, NE
County Engineer Full contact info

Staff Liaison American Public Works Association
Ms. Anne Jackson Washington, DC
Director of Sustainability Full contact info