Approved Institutes

There are currently 18 APWA nationally-approved Public Works Institutes. Basics about each Institute are provided below, or you may CLICK HERE to see an expanded PDF version of the matrix.

Chapter and Academic
Affiliation

Class Format

Duration

Cost to Complete

Registration Contact 
Arizona

Face-to-Face 2 Years
4 3-day courses alternating
Fall/Spring

$1000 members/$1400 non-members
$250 per course members/$350 non-members

Electronic Materials Included; Printed Materials $15 
Chapter Scholarships may be available

Suzanne Ledy
(480) 644-3808 Suzanne.Ledy@Mesaaz.gov
Florida
Indian River State College (IRSC)
Face-to-Face
1 Year
3 30-hour modules 
Live 3 days each 
$1,497 Live
$499 per module live;
Chapter Scholarships available
Susan Klein
sklein@irsc.edu
Georgia (Certificate of Public Works Management)
Univ. of Georgia
Carl Vinson Institute of Government
Face-to-Face 3 Years
6 sessions of 15 credit hours each;
2 sessions per year Jan/July
$2,370
$500 per session; includes meals
but does not include lodging 
Materials Included
Walt McBride
(770) 503-4474
mcbride@uga.edu
Illinois & Chicago Metro

 
Face-to-Face 3 Years
1 week per year October; 
Courses are non-consecutive, so participants can start at any time
$2,085
$725 per year; includes meals
but does not include lodging
Materials Included  Chapter Scholarships available
Mary Bender
231-797-5536
mbender102@aol.com
Iowa (Public Employees  Leadership Institute)
Iowa State Univ.
Online Self-Paced
14 modules; each module 6-8  hours
$1,050
$75 per module
Materials Included
Keith Knapp
515-294-8817
kknapp@iastate.edu
Kansas City Metro

Face-to-Face 2 Years 
4 3-day modules; Spring/Fall sessions
$1,000
$250 per module
Materials Included
Larry Frevert
816-582-9236
lwfrevert@gmail.com
Michigan (Michigan Public Service Institute)
Central Michigan Univ.
Face-to-Face 3 Years
1 week per year; 
Courses are non-consecutive, so participants can start at any time
$1,950
$725 per year; includes meals
but does not include lodging
Materials Included
Mary Bender
231-797-5536
mbender102@aol.com
Mid Atlantic
Virginia Tech Continuing and Professional Education
Face-to Face 2 Years
4 3-day sessions; Spring/Fall sessions 
$2,800 - $4,180
$745 per module for APWA members ($945 after deadline) $845 per module for non-members ($1,045 after deadline)
Materials Included
Brittany Woods
Brittanywoods@vt.edu
Minnesota
University of Minnesota
Face-to-Face 2-3 Years
5 Public Works Courses
$3,400
$680 per course
Materials Included
Tim Plath
(651) 675-5643
tplath@cityofeagan.com
New England
Norwich Univ. College of Graduate & Continuing  Studies
Online 8 months
4 8-week blocks
$1,050
$300 for each blocks 1-3; $150 for block 4
Materials: $98
Kurt Blomquist
(603) 209-3786 kblomquist@keenenh.gov
Northern California

Face-to-Face 1-2 Years
4 3-day modules
$1,580 Members
$1,980 Non-Members

$395 per module (members)
$495 per module (non-members)
Materials: $135
Vitaly Troyan
(415) 454-4568
vandmtroyan@comcast.net
Washington & Oregon
(Northwest PWI)
Face-to-Face 1-3 Years
3 4-day modules; 
Candidates can attend classes in
Washington and/or Oregon
$1,500-$1,905
$500-$650 per module
(cost varies between WA & OR)

Materials Included
John Ostrowski
360-573-7594
ostrowj@pacifier.com
Colorado (Rocky  Mountain Region PWI) Face-to-Face 1 Year
5 two-day sessions every other month (Jan-Sept) Final session at Annual Conference (Oct)
$1,700
Materials included
Pamela Weimer
303-979-2190
bdweimer@msn.com
Texas

Face-to-Face 2 Years
4 3-day modules; Spring/Fall Sessions
$1,988 Members
$2,140 Non-Members

$497 per module members
$535 per module non-members
Chapter Scholarships available
Ines Roach
publicworksinstitute_tx@outlook.com
Sacramento

Face-to-Face 2 Years
4 3-day modules
$1,180 for public works employees or APWA members
$1,580 private sector employees that are APWA non-members

$295 per module for public works employees or APWA members
$395 per module for private sector employees that are APWA non-members
Materials (optional) $50
Matthew Salveson
(916) 767-8171 msalveson@woodrodgers.com





Theron Roschen
916-842-1069
troschen@interwestgrp.com
Southern California

Face-to-Face 2 Years
4 3-day modules
$1,596 Members
$1,996 Non-Members

$399 per module members
$499 per module non-members
Materials included
Pamela Manning
626-458-7131
pmanning@dpw.lacounty.gov
San Diego/Imperial Counties Face-to-Face 4 years
4 3-day modules
$1,396 Members
$1,796 Non-Members

$349 per module members
$449 per module non-members
Materials included
Osmar Rodriguez
619-515-5172
osmar.rodriguez@parsons.com
Wisconsin (Wisconsin Public Works Management Institute)
Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
Engineering Professional Development (EPD)
Face-to-Face 1 Year
All classes are offered each calendar year
$2,335
$120 per class
Materials included
Chapter Scholarships available
 
Benjamin Jordan
(608) 265-4478
bjordan@wisc.edu