Illustration of calendar months

APWA Calendar

Looking for APWA Chapter and Branch events?

Focus on Public Works logo

Focus on Public Works celebrates a new technical area each month, featuring expert-led online education, trending technologies, resources, networking, and more opportunities.

Learn More


The Principles of PW Self-Assessment virtual workshop has been developed with a focus on understanding the practices and completing the self-assessment process using the manual and software. Public works self-assessment provides opportunities for continuous improvement for your overall operations, ultimately leading to better quality of life for your community. Look ahead as you plan for a stronger, more resilient operation in which your employees are empowered by this opportunity to share their expertise and knowledge.Webinar: 1:30 pm  ET | 12:30 pm CT | 11:30 am MT | 10:30 am PT
When: May 26, 2022

Accredited agencies and agencies getting started or interested in the benefits of completing the self-assessment process on the road to Accreditation have similar challenges when undertaking the continuous improvement effort. Join this panel discussion on a quarterly basis to gain insight into how your peer agencies managed their day-to-day operations to complete the self-assessment and achieve the Accreditation designation. Questions are encouraged, ideas will be shared and helpful hints will be offered to everyone in attendance. Webinar: 3:00 pm  ET | 2:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm MT | 12:00 am PT
When: June 14, 2022

The Emergency Management Technical Committee has tackled the subject of dam safety for 2022. The committee has identified public safety risks associated with low head dams as worthy of further discussion. Low head dams often appear to pose a minimal threat to those with an untrained eye; however, the unseen dangers have resulted in frequent injury or death. The purpose of this program is to review the hidden dangers of low head dams and ways your public works agencies can increase awareness within your community.   Webinar, 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. CT | 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. ET | 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. MT | 8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. PT
When: June 23, 2022

Important or complex transportation issues do not stop when you enter a small city or rural community. In fact, small cities and rural communities not only have transportation issues, but they also must find a way to address issues without multimillion-dollar budgets or federal assistance. Join this panel as they discuss smaller town transportation issues and their creative solutions, and of course funding alternatives. Webinar, 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. CT | 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. ET | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00  p.m. MT | 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PT
When: July 06, 2022

This CLL will look at emerging technology for signal control systems that can identify bike and pedestrians’ movements and log this data both locally and in the cloud. The session will look at how this data is gained via radar and video systems, what outputs can be generated, and how this can help with intersection design and regional planning. The session will also look at other approaches to bike and pedestrian counting and how data is used by municipalities.  Webinar, 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. CT | 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. ET | 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. MT | 8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. PT
When: July 14, 2022

The UPROW committee will present lessons learned in implementing electronic permitting systems. This is an opportunity to showcase the challenges and benefits experienced by various agencies that implemented a new electronic and virtual process. Items discussed will include setting up policies and procedures, the vendor selection process, an overview of typical system platforms, tracking and prioritizing permits, managing permittee inquiries, and working within “shot clocks” approval requirements.   Webinar, 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. CT | 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. ET | 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. MT | 8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. PT
When: August 04, 2022

Join winter maintenance industry experts as they share their knowledge in an engaging and personable way. The Winter Maintenance Supervisor Certificate Program is one of APWA’s highly sought-after programs. Targeted toward foremen, supervisors, and managers of winter maintenance operations, this certificate program helps those in charge of winter operations understand all facets of what goes into developing and maintaining an effective winter maintenance program. Resulting in more effective, efficient, equitable, and environmentally friendly snow and ice control.  Webinar: September 20, 2022, September 21, 2022 and September 22, 2022 from  10:00 a.m. – 12:30 a.m. CT | 11:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. ET | 9:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. MT | 8:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. PT
When: September 20, 2022

Learn from the experts who developed the program. This is an eight-hour program, designed for fleet managers, including new fleet managers or those who aspire to become fleet managers. The program will provide an overview of the many skills and areas of knowledge fleet managers need to be successful, including organization structures, communication, procurement, purchasing, finance, and fleet operations.   Webinar: 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. CT | 11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. ET | 9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. MT | 8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. PT  on September 27, 2022, September 29, 2022, October 4, 2022, and October 6, 2022
When: September 27, 2022

The Winter Maintenance Operator Certificate is one of APWA’s highly sought-after programs. Learn from speakers who developed this program, many of whom are current or former operators themselves. Join winter maintenance industry experts as they share their knowledge in an engaging and personable way. This four-hour certificate program is targeted towards those staff in the trucks performing winter operations, including operators, crew leaders, and foremen. The program focuses on snow and ice control materials and how they work, equipment, and operations. During this program’s national debut, hear from speakers who actually developed this program, many of whom are current or former operators themselves. Two separate two-hour class sessions in one week.  Webinar: 8 a.m.-10 a.m. PST| 9 a.m.-11 a.m. MST| 10 a.m.-12 p.m. CST| 11 a.m.-1 p.m. EST on November 1, 2022 and November 2, 2022
When: November 01, 2022