Illustration of calendar months

APWA Calendar

Looking for APWA Chapter and Branch events?

Focus on Public Works logo

Focus on Public Works celebrates a new technical area each month, featuring expert-led online education, trending technologies, resources, networking, and more opportunities.

Learn More


When staff are limited and turnover is high succession planning is a must for a small city/rural community public works department. This panel will discuss what succession planning looks like in their town and how to implement a succession plan when employees move on. Webinar, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. ET | 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. CT | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00  p.m. MT | 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PT
When: October 05, 2022

Calibration is an important tool for winter maintenance best practices. Evaluating different materials, solids, or liquids for calibration is a standard for testing or running a pilot program. Properly calibrated equipment can help ensure consistent application and help you decide on a viable starting point during an event. Learn how three different agencies embraced calibration, how it improved their service level, and provided solutions to their winter maintenance challenges. Webinar, 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. ET | 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. CT | 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. MT | 8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. PT
When: October 27, 2022

The Winter Maintenance Operator Certificate is one of APWA’s highly sought-after programs. Learn from speakers who developed this program, many of whom are current or former operators themselves. Join winter maintenance industry experts as they share their knowledge in an engaging and personable way. This four-hour certificate program is targeted towards those staff in the trucks performing winter operations, including operators, crew leaders, and foremen. The program focuses on snow and ice control materials and how they work, equipment, and operations. During this program’s national debut, hear from speakers who actually developed this program, many of whom are current or former operators themselves. Two separate two-hour class sessions in one week.  Webinar: 11 a.m.-1 p.m. EST| 10 a.m.-12 p.m. CST| 9 a.m.-11 a.m. MST| 8 a.m.-10 a.m. PST|   on November 1, 2022 and November 2, 2022
When: November 01, 2022

The Liquids Workshop is always one of the most popular programs presented at the SNOW Conference. The experts who created this program are now offering the entire program virtually. If you’ve missed the opportunity to attend this workshop at SNOW, or if you want to retake it to freshen up, this is your chance. Using liquids in your winter maintenance operations has several benefits. Agencies have found that their total use of materials, particularly salt, has been significantly reduced. In addition, using liquids provides significant cost savings, and experience has shown that liquids provide better safety and improved levels of service than more traditional approaches. This webinar will explore in detail why liquids are being used in winter maintenance operations and brine making, the storage of liquid materials, the systems needed to transfer liquids from storage to trucks, and the equipment needed to store and deliver liquids from the trucks to the road. The speakers will discuss the use of liquid-only routes, where agencies have had great success using liquids before and all through the storm, and how liquids can be used with solids to handle difficult accumulations of snow and ice. The speakers will also discuss typical application rates, how those rates vary depending on the type of storm and pursued strategies, and what you should expect in terms of outcomes when using liquids in these ways. Webinar: 10:00 a.m.–1:30 p.m. ET | 9:00 a.m.–12:30 p.m. CT| 8:00–11:30 a.m. MT| 7:00–10:30 a.m. PT
When: November 10, 2022