Illustration of calendar months

APWA Calendar

Looking for APWA Chapter and Branch events?

Focus on Public Works logo

Focus on Public Works celebrates a new technical area each month, featuring expert-led online education, trending technologies, resources, networking, and more opportunities.

Learn More


Levels of Service (LOS) is a component of asset management planning that is significant and has a great deal of impact. Municipalities' core purpose is to provide public services to the residents and other stakeholders with the help of Infrastructure Assets, and most of the resources devoted to asset management planning are spent on infrastructure. The municipality must ensure that the infrastructure performs to meet the level of service goals at an affordable and sustainable cost, by finding a balance between the expected level of service and the cost of providing that level of service.  Webinar, 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. CT | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. ET | 9:00 a.m. – 10 a.m. MT | 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. PT
When: January 27, 2022

Learn from an expert with more than 35 years of experience in the construction management industry in this popular (and previously sold out) virtual course! This program brings the APWA Construction Inspection Manual to life along with the help of an expert instructor. It is designed for construction inspectors of various experience levels looking to learn more about all facets of public project inspection, including the roles and responsibilities of an inspector, legal/risk management and regulatory issues, documentation and communication, and project close-out. This unique course combines the benefits of an in-person workshop with the convenience of online learning.  SESSION START TIMES: 7:30 a.m. PST | 8:30 a.m. MST | 9:30 a.m. CST | 10:30 a. m. EST
When: February 22, 2022

Stormwater management has become more challenging, as we face higher intensity, longer duration rain events at greater frequency. We need to bring different thinking and solutions to the challenges that climate change presents. In collaboration with our colleagues at C4S, we will present two different public agencies' case studies, including a centralized and a decentralized solution to stormwater management, both of which are using technology and data to solve their challenges. Webinar, 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. CT | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. ET | 9:00 a.m. – 10 a.m. MT | 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. PT
When: February 24, 2022

Small towns and rural communities may produce less waste but that does not mean less work. Fewer staff, resources and vendor options create unique obstacles for smaller town solid waste managers. This panel will discuss new challenges related to collections and post-collections. Webinar, 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. CT | 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. ET | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00  p.m. MT | 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PT
When: March 02, 2022

Accredited agencies and agencies getting started or interested in the benefits of completing the self-assessment process on the road to Accreditation have similar challenges when undertaking the continuous improvement effort. Join this panel discussion on a quarterly basis to gain insight into how your peer agencies managed their day-to-day operations to complete the self-assessment and achieve the Accreditation designation. Questions are encouraged, ideas will be shared and helpful hints will be offered to everyone in attendance. Webinar: 3:00 pm  ET | 2:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm MT | 12:00 am PT
When: March 22, 2022

Solid waste and recycling collection services are broad and vary from community to community.  Local governments across the United States often contract with private haulers to provide all or part of their collection services .  This webinar will provide guidance on developing and implementing solid waste and recycling contracts.  The panelists will share experiences of procuring services including evaluating and implementing new programs.  In addition, the panelists will present lessons learned in procuring and negotiating multi-million multi-year solid waste and recycling collection services contract.  Webinar, 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. CT | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. ET | 9:00 a.m. – 10 a.m. MT | 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. PT
When: March 31, 2022

Small cities and rural communities often face similar challenges as larger and urban communities but due to fewer resources, solutions often require a different approach and creativity. Join this panel discussion to hear the perspective of public works professionals in small cities and rural communities. Webinar, 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. CT | 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. ET | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00  p.m. MT | 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PT
When: May 02, 2022

While small cities and rural communities face the same challenges as larger and urban communities to address climate change, build resilience and social equity, and comply with environmental regulations, they often do not have the same resources – whether revenue, expertise or dedicated staff. Join this panel discussion to learn more about how sustainability is being advanced in small cities and rural communities. Webinar, 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. CT | 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. ET | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00  p.m. MT | 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PT
When: May 04, 2022

The Principles of PW Self-Assessment virtual workshop has been developed with a focus on understanding the practices and completing the self-assessment process using the manual and software. Public works self-assessment provides opportunities for continuous improvement for your overall operations, ultimately leading to better quality of life for your community. Look ahead as you plan for a stronger, more resilient operation in which your employees are empowered by this opportunity to share their expertise and knowledge.Webinar: 1:30 pm  ET | 12:30 pm CT | 11:30 am MT | 10:30 am PT
When: May 26, 2022

Accredited agencies and agencies getting started or interested in the benefits of completing the self-assessment process on the road to Accreditation have similar challenges when undertaking the continuous improvement effort. Join this panel discussion on a quarterly basis to gain insight into how your peer agencies managed their day-to-day operations to complete the self-assessment and achieve the Accreditation designation. Questions are encouraged, ideas will be shared and helpful hints will be offered to everyone in attendance. Webinar: 3:00 pm  ET | 2:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm MT | 12:00 am PT
When: June 14, 2022

Important or complex transportation issues do not stop when you enter a small city or rural community. In fact, small cities and rural communities not only have transportation issues, but they also must find a way to address issues without multimillion-dollar budgets or federal assistance. Join this panel as they discuss smaller town transportation issues and their creative solutions, and of course funding alternatives. Webinar, 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. CT | 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. ET | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00  p.m. MT | 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PT
When: July 06, 2022