Candidates for the 2006-2007 APWA Board of Directors named

Five nominees are slated for election to the 2006-2007 APWA Board of Directors. Two candidates selected by the National Nominating Committee include Larry Frevert, P.E., Municipal Program Manager, HDR Engineering, Inc., Kansas City, Missouri, for President-Elect; and Patricia (Patty) Hilderbrand, P.E., Program Management & Development Section Manager, City of Kansas City, Missouri, for Director-at-Large, Engineering and Technology.

Three candidates nominated by regional committees as directors include Larry T. Koehle, P.Eng., President, L&N Koehle Consulting Services, Brampton, Ontario, for Director, Region V; Ann Burnett, Governmental Liaison for Pacific Bell (retired), San Diego, California, for Director, Region VIII; and Doug Drever, Manager of Public Works, City of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, for Director, Region IX.

This year's National Nominating Committee was comprised of the chair, Immediate Past President Tom Trice, Director of Public Works, Bloomfield Township, Michigan; Mike Bobinsky, Director of Public Works, City of Portland, Maine; Tom Colbert, P.E., Public Works Director, City of Eagan, Minnesota; Sue Hann, P.E., AICP, Deputy City Manager, City of Palm Bay, Florida; Past President Dwayne E. Kalynchuk, P.Eng., General Manager of Environmental Services, Capital Regional District, Victoria, British Columbia; Past President Marty Manning, P.E., Public Works Director, Clark County, Nevada; and William (Bo) Mills, Director of Public Works, City of Germantown, Tennessee. The three regional nominating committees were comprised of members selected by the respective chapters in the region.

Larry Frevert, P.E.

Larry Frevert has worked in the public works field for 36 years, most of which have involved state and city government. He worked for the Kansas City, Missouri Public Works Department as the Division Engineer-Street and Traffic for nine years and the Deputy Director of Public Works for eight years. He also served two years for the Kansas City, Missouri Parks and Recreation Department as Assistant Engineering Director. In his role as Municipal Program Manager for HDR Engineering, he helps local governments with their public works projects. Frevert is a Past President of the Kansas City Metro Chapter, served as the chapter's Alternate Delegate, and was the Vice General Chairman of the 2002 Congress host committee and General Chairman of the 1997 North American Snow Conference host committee. He has served at the national level on the Finance Committee (2001-05; Chair, 2005-06), Engineering and Technology Committee (Chair, 2001-02), Congress Site Selection Committee (1997-2001; Chair, 1998-2001) and as the Board Liaison to the Fleet Services Committee (2002-06) and Facilities & Grounds Committee (2002-06). Frevert is completing the first year of his second term as Director-At-Large, Facilities and Fleet Services.

Patricia (Patty) Hilderbrand, P.E.
Director-at-Large, Engineering and Technology

In her nine years with the Kansas City, Missouri Public Works Department, Patty Hilderbrand's duties have included project management of major flood mitigation projects with the U.S. Corps of Engineers; directing the department's $500-million, five-year Capital Improvements Program; directing and implementing a city-wide, Internet-based, comprehensive program and project management system; and serving as primary liaison to the local Metropolitan Planning Organization, MoDOT and all local jurisdictions. Since joining the Kansas City Metro Chapter in 1997 she has been the chair of the Awards Committee (2002-03) and the Engineering & Technology Committee (2004-06), and is also serving as the co-chair of the Operations Committee for the upcoming 2006 APWA Congress in Kansas City. At the national level she has been a member of the Leadership & Management Committee since 2002. In 2003 she received APWA's Young Leader of the Year Award.

Larry T. Koehle, P.Eng.
Director, Region V

Larry T. Koehle has had more than 30 years of public works service including serving as the Commissioner of Public Works for the City of Brampton, Ontario, from which he retired in 2003. He has been a member of APWA for 32 years serving as the Ontario Chapter President, Chapter Delegate, and Chair of the House of Delegates. At the national level he has served on the Nominating Committee (1998-99), Awards Committee (1997-2001), Audit Committee (2005-06), and House of Delegates Executive Committee (Chair, 1999-2000). Koehle is a recipient of the Ontario Chapter's Long Service Award for his 25 years of significant service to the chapter. He is completing his first term as Director, Region V.

Ann Burnett
Director, Region VIII

Ann Burnett has been an active member of APWA since 1982. Winner of the Harry S. Swearingen Award in 2000, Burnett has been a San Diego/Imperial Counties Chapter board member continuously since 1985, having moved through the offices to president in 1990. She has chaired or been a member of numerous committees within the chapter, including the Scholarship, Educational Outreach, Awards, Membership, Diversity, and Congress 2003 Planning Committees. At the national level Burnett has been on the Nominating Committee (1996; 1999-2001), Congress Program Review Committee (1998-99), Diversity Committee (Chair, 2001-02; member, 2002-03) and Government Affairs Committee (member, 2000-03; Board member, 2004-06). Burnett has been a member of the House of Delegates since 1995, assuming the position of Chair in 1999. She is completing her first term as Director, Region VIII.

Doug Drever
Director, Region IX

Doug Drever has more than 28 years experience with the City of Saskatoon Public Works, including serving as Water and Wastewater Operations Engineer, Business Administrator, Manager of Roadways, Land Development Manager, and his current position as Manager of Public Works. He is a past co-chair of the Annual Saskatchewan Public Works Conference and a former Chapter Delegate from the Saskatchewan Chapter to Region IX (1999-2004). In addition, he is a current member of the national Water Resources Committee and a past member of the national Transportation Committee (2001-03). He is involved in various volunteer organizations such as the Provincial Professional Engineering Association as the chair of the Consulting Practices Committee, and as Immediate Past President and Director of the local City Employees Credit Union. Doug was appointed Director, Region IX, in the spring of 2006 by the APWA Board of Directors to serve the remainder of the unexpired term of office due to the passing of former Region IX Director Jack Pittis. He will serve his first full term as Director, Region IX, if elected.