Candidates for the 2001-2002 APWA Board of Directors named

Six nominees are slated for election to the 2001-2002 APWA Board of Directors. Three candidates selected by the national nominating committee include: Martin J. Manning, Director of Public Works, Clark County, Nevada, for president-elect; Christine F. Andersen, Deputy City Manager of Environmental Services, City of Boulder, Colorado, for at-large director of environmental management; and Lawrence (Larry) Lux, President, Lux Advisors, Ltd., Plainfield, Illinois, for at-large director of management/leadership.

Three candidates nominated by regional committees as directors include: Howard B. LaFever, Executive Vice President, Stearns & Wheler, LLC, for director of Region II; Ben E. Wolfe, Jr., Public Works Director, City of Meridian, Mississippi, for director of Region IV; and Dale L. Houdeshell, Manager of Engineering and Development Services, City of St. Peters, Missouri, for director of Region VI.

This year's national nominating committee was comprised of the chair, Jerry Fay, National Program Director of Public Works, HDR Engineering, Inc., Phoenix, Arizona; Robert H. Miller, former Public Works Director, Schaumburg, Illinois; Robert Albee, Managing Director-Telecommunications Engineering, Vanasse, Hangen and Brustlin, Inc., Watertown, Massachusetts; Ann Burnett, former Governmental Liaison, Pacific Bell, San Diego, California; Edward N. Sizer, Program Director, Charlotte, North Carolina; Julia A. Forgue, Public Works Director, Newport, Rhode Island; and James H. Matteson, former Director, Street Transportation Department, Phoenix, Arizona. The three regional nominating committees were comprised of the APWA House of Delegates member from each chapter in the regions.

Manning tapped for president-elect position
Martin J. Manning, the nominee for president-elect, has more than 30 years of public works experience. A member of APWA since 1973, Manning is a 1998 APWA Top Ten winner and has been an active member at the chapter and national levels and served on many committees. Manning served on the APWA Board of Directors from 1991-97 as director of Region VIII, has served as Chapter President for the Nevada Chapter, and remains active in Nevada Chapter activities. He was the Director of Research for APWA from 1973-75.

The environmental management director-at-large nominee, Christine F. Andersen, has 28 years of experience in the field of public works. Prior to her current position as Deputy City Manager of Environmental Services for the City of Boulder, Colorado, she served as the Public Works Director for the City of Eugene, Oregon, for 14 years. Andersen has been a member of APWA since 1979 and has served on numerous task forces and committees. She is completing her third year as director-at-large.

The public works management/leadership director-at-large nominee, Lawrence (Larry) Lux, was appointed to APWA's Board of Directors last year. He has been involved in APWA activities for more than 35 years, and has participated on the Emergency Management, Reorganization, and Strategic Planning Committees. In addition to his membership in APWA, Lux is also a member of the American Water Works Association and the Institute for Transportation Engineering.

Regional candidates
Nominee for Region II director, Howard LaFever, has over 30 years experience in the field of environmental engineering, specializing in studies, design, and construction services for the collection, treatment, and disposal of wastewater and solid waste. He has been an owner of the Stearns & Wheler Companies since 1987 and has helped the organization expand to three integrated operating entities in ten offices throughout the northeast and Mid-Atlantic states. Howard has lived in the Cazenovia, New York area outside of Syracuse for over 31 years and has been a member of the Cazenovia Lions Club for 30 years.

Nominee for Region IV director, Ben E. Wolfe, Jr., is currently the Director of Public Works for the City of Meridian, Mississippi. He is an active member of various national, state, and local professional and civic organizations. His APWA participation includes holding every chapter office in the Mississippi Chapter and 15 years as the Mississippi Chapter's House of Delegates member. He completes his first term on the APWA Board of Directors in September 2001.

Dale L. Houdeshell, nominee for director of Region VI, has been active in the Kansas City Metro and Missouri Chapters for the last 26 years. He is a Past President of the Missouri Chapter and Past Chairman of the St. Louis Metro Branch. For the last 24 years he has served in public works directorial and city engineer positions. In 1987, he assumed a position with the City of St. Peters, Missouri, where he is currently the Manager of Engineering and Development Services. Houdeshell is a 1997 recipient of APWA's Top Ten Award.