Michigan chapter presents Honorary Membership Award to Sen. Abraham


On April 1, 2000, Michigan Senator Spencer Abraham was presented APWA’s highest honor, the Honorary Membership Award, in Port Huron, Michigan. At a fundraiser for State Senator Lauren Hager, Chapter Past-President Tim Flanagan conveyed the prestigious award to Sen. Abraham in recognition of his exemplary leadership and public service on behalf of public works. Recent recipients have included Rep. Bud Shuster and U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Rodney Slater.


Sen. Abraham, Michigan’s junior Senator, was honored for his role in support of the Clean Michigan Initiative, a statewide ballot measure approved by Michigan voters. The initiative authorizes resources to help local communities in Michigan finance efforts to improve water quality, implement watershed management plans, prevent pollution, clean up brownfields, and revitalize waterfront communities.


Established in 1935, the Honorary Membership Award is presented to recognize distinguished service to public works. Senator Abraham was awarded the honor last year at the APWA Congress in Denver, but was unable to be present to receive the award due to prior commitments.