International Affairs Committee

There are twelve members on the International Affairs Committee (IAC), seven are appointed by the President-Elect, with members eligible to serve up to three, two-year terms. Four of the committee members appointed by the President-Elect also serve as chairs to IAC subcommittees. Five of the committee members are ex-officio members from APWA's formal international partnerships. The IAC works to enhance the quality and efficiency with which public works infrastructure and services are provided around the world by facilitating the development and exchange of ideas, information and technology among persons professionally involved in the delivery of such facilities and services.

Five members of the IAC also serve on the Jennings Randolph International Fellowship Review Task Force and review the applications for the Jennings Randolph International Fellowship Program and in turn make a recommendation to the Committee regarding the Jennings Randolph International Fellows. Final confirmation of the Jennings Randolph International Fellows is determined by the Eisenhower Word Affairs Institute. The IAC holds monthly conference call meetings and an annual face-to-face meeting at PWX. Each IAC member is also asked to participate in a subcommittee; subcommittees meet quarterly via conference call.  Additional contribution of time is based upon commitment of committee members to various assignments.

Download a copy of the Internal Affairs Committee brochure

The IAC was founded in 1989 and sees its mission to support efforts of public works organizations around the world to serve their local communities, through humanitarian service, seek solutions to global problems, and educate leaders who will make the world a better place by sharing in education and knowledge of engineering principles, techniques, and public works services.

Current Committee Roster

(Summaries of Committee's meetings)
Chair City of Moscow
Mr. Tyler Palmer Moscow, ID

Member IPWEA/Inst of PW Engr - Australia
Mr. Chris Champion, CPEng North Sydney, NSW
Director International Full contact info

Member IPWEA - New Zealand
Mr. Michael Connolly Wellington, 
Chief Executive NZ Full contact info

Member City of Saskatoon
Mr. Doug J. Drever, FEC, P Eng Saskatoon, SK
Project Director Full contact info

Member Village of Villa Park
Mr. Vydas J. Juskelis, PE Villa Park, IL

Member Town of Quispamsis
Mr. W. Gary Losier, P Eng Quispamsis, NB
Dir of Engineeing and Works Full contact info

Mr. Martin Pastucha Bainbridge Island, WA
Retired Full contact info

Member Available
Ms. Joy M. Schaad Chicago, IL
Sr. Transportation Engineer Full contact info

Member City of Ames
Ms. Tracy L. Warner, PE Ames, IA
MUNICIPAL ENGINEER Full contact info

Board Liaison City of Springfield IL-Retired
Mr. Richard T. Berning, PE Springfield, IL
Retired Full contact info

Staff Liaison American Public Works Association
Mr. David Dancy Kansas City, MO
Director of Marketing Full contact info

Staff Liaison American Public Works Association
Ms. Lillie Plowman Kansas City, MO
Product and Outreach Marketing Mgr Full contact info